9 Comments

I never thought my Mom drove a stick until she borrowed my GTO with a 4 speed first shifter. She reminded me that all old cars came with manual transmissions. She never told me what she thought of my car.

Expand full comment

BYSA. Drove Jay's 5 speed 68 Pony car last year. Don't I Love rowing...

Expand full comment

Should be"hurst" shifter

Expand full comment

I never thought about this being a security feature but good idea. I think most of us can remember when we learned to drive. Interesting for myself as I was only 14 and my grandfather retired from RR as engineer after 55 years, he was 70. I was his new found fishing buddy, showed up about 6am and we were driving to lake about 45 miles away. He tossed me the keys as he had his boat hitched up before I arrived. I said "I don't have a drivers license", and he said "When I started driving you didn't need no dang drivers license, time for you to learn"! It was a 3 speed on the column 1950 Chevy. Of course I bucked and killed it a couple of times, but it was pretty easy with his instructions. From that day on, if I was with him, I drove. I still have his "Indianapolis Times" motor book that shows you how to maintain a Model T Ford.

Expand full comment

3 on the tree in my first car

Expand full comment

I’m 30 years old and have never learned stick-shift. (Although both of my older sisters did.) It’s my only weakness. (Haha!) I always say that I will learn once I make it onto the Amazing Race.

Expand full comment

I agree I always enjoyed Stick shifts except in heavy city traf

Expand full comment

Cody taught me to drive in a stick shift cat. Fun times.

Expand full comment